Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

three-dark-crowns


Title: Three Daark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns, #1)
Author: Kendare Blake
Format: eBook
Date Published: September 20, 2016 by HarperTeen
Rating: ★★★★✰

Synopsis: When kingdom come, there will be one.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

(taken from goodreads)

review f

Three Dark Crowns first appealed to me because it has a really interesting story – triplets competing for the crown. When I started reading it, I was a bit confused because of its writing and I had no idea what the hell was going on. It was when I was 25% on the story when I was finally able to get what was happening in the book. I was like “AH SO THEY WERE SEPARATED SOME TIME DURING THEIR CHILDHOOD BECAUSE THEY HAD DIFFERENT ABILITIES THEN THEY WERE GOING TO BE TRAINED OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT”. Truthfully, the way the book was written was quite confusing because of multiple perspectives but I was able to surpass it anyway.

To be really, really honest, there wasn’t much action in the book as much as I thought. It was pretty much slow-paced, or maybe that was just me wanting what was promised in the blurb. But then again, most of the book was just about Arsinoe, Katharine and Mirabella’s love lives and a little bit of their training. I really wish that the author paid more attention on the triplets’ gifts and their training and how much they really want to win the throne instead.  There were also a lot of eye-rolling moments /coughs/ Joseph /coughs/ Mirabella. I nearly threw my e-reader when Joseph and Mirabella met, I screamed because it was hella annoying! I like Mirabella but her being in love with Joseph in a SHORT SPAN OF TIME and vice versa is annoying and is even more unrealistic than the gifts they have. (but I think this has something to do with what Arsinoe did!!!! The spell!!) There also wasn’t much backstory as to why the triplets have to kill each other and where everything began, which leaves a big question mark to me.

But why the FOUR STARS? Honestly, I would’ve given this book a three-star rating if it weren’t for the last part which gave more excitement. When I accidentally peered the last page, I thought Arsinoe would win but when I read it like really read it, it wasn’t what happened!!! And it’s making me want to crave for the next book! Also, I love how the queens are now more competitive and motivated about being the queen unlike back when the book started. And also, I just like to insert the fact that I really, really like Pietyr until he did that thing to Katharine which basically just came out of nowhere. Harhar.

signature

One thought on “Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Leave a Reply

