A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (oh the feels!)

acomaf


Title: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Mist and Fury #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Format: eBook
Date Published: May 3, 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

(taken from goodreads)

review f

The first book, A Court of Thorns and Roses, didn’t really leave me hungry or wanting for more – it felt like that’s it. However, with people going on with the sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury, I knew I had to read it.

And I was right!

Ever since the first book and learning about the curse and what Feyre had gone through to save Tamlin and his people, I certainly did want these two to end up together. However, reading A Court of Mist and Fury changed how I saw some of the book’s characters, especially Tamlin.

In ACOTAR, I loved Tamlin and him being with Feyre! They seemed fit and perfect for each other. But ACOMAF proved me wrong. I think the book showed who Tamlin  really was, an overprotective and controlling fae. Like what happened Under the Mountain broke him from the inside. And then here comes Rhysand – the High Lord of the Night Court who I didn’t like in ACOTAR but I definitely loved in ACOMAF! He appeared so differently in the book, he wasn’t that terrifying or scary High Lord like he was in the first book. Rather, he was very likeable and I love how he does things with Feyre (so, very unlike Tamlin!).

My favorite part of the book might have been when Rhys told Feyre the story from his dreams about the painting on the drawer until that moment. And it didn’t matter that it was kind of long (haha!) because how the conversation ended was so satisfying!

I set the bowl down before him. “Then eat.”

There were so many hot, intimate scenes in the book. I swear I feel awkward when I get to read these kind of parts but hey it’s Rhysand and Feyre so I’ve got to read this. No skipping of words. Hahaha.

However, it’s not always a happy ending in an instant. I swear I wanted to gouge Tamlin’s eye out and put it inside the ring. I hated him in almost all parts of the book – especially in the third part (in which the chapters were so intense and I just couldn’t resist reading). I felt like he was so selfish! It seemed like he never truly loved Feyre but he wanted to merely keep her.

And speaking of those chapters, it was the reason I hadn’t eaten lunch and dinner. I had to finish the book, like it’s now or never. I swear I thought I’ll have my ship sinking – the bond between them broken – but happy to have learned not.

The ending felt like pure evil, like Sarah J. Maas wanted to torture her readers for at least a year by waiting for the next book. Cliffhanger, might be. It just made me want to read the next book ASAP and learn more about what would happen to Feyre, now back at the Spring Court with Tamlin, pretending to have the bond between her and Rhysand broken.

signature

4 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (oh the feels!)

  1. I’m bringing this book on vacation in a couple weeks! So happy to hear you liked it 🙂 I’ve been putting it off so I can read it on a special occasion and it’s been very hard! I just want to get to know Rhysand

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

