The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset


Title: The Retribution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #3)
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Format: Paperback
Date Published: November 4. 2014 by Simon and Schuster for Young Readers
Rating: ★★★★✰

Synopsis: Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

(taken from goodreads)

review f

OMG. I think I lost my mind. Reading The Retribution of Mara Dyer felt like I was having a roller coaster ride of emotions – unstable! Up, down, up down. The book really did mess with my emotions.

Some parts of the book were gross.  REALLY! I was creating some images inside my mind while reading, of course. But there were just some parts that looked gross, because for once: I hate blood! The images were kind of disturbing but surprisingly, it entertained me. It was also partly funny, thanks to the one and only Jamie. But most of all, the book was so mysterious and at the same time, confusing I felt like I was losing some sh*t while reading. The characters had no one idea what was happening – AND SO DID I.

I love the parts where Jamie, Stella and Mara were still together. They seemed like a family, and Mara played the role of their daughter. She really seemed like their daughter because it seemed to me like both Jamie and Stella were there to take care of Mara. Or something.

The mystery sh*t of the book though – my head was aching trying to keep up. Things were starting to become clearer but then one thing happened and I was lost again! It was like so many things were happening at once, or were piling up and one event would lead to an answer, or something.

Overall, I was not entirely satisfied with how the book ended because it ended just like that. I wasn’t given the answers I needed and my mind isn’t in peace. I think I’m going crazy. I’m still kind of confused with the book because it felt like all of the mysteries weren’t solved. As the book ended, I knew I wanted more. That’s just it?

AND ALSO AFTER READING, IT FELT LIKE THE BOOK WASN’T WRITTEN BY MICHELLE HODKIN BUT BY MARA DYER HERSELF. HOW DARE YOU MESS WITH MY FEELINGS.

signature

5 thoughts on “The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. I wasn’t a fan of the ending of this series either 😦 I felt the series started out so strong and it felt like the possibilities were endless. I was sure that when I found out the truth about Mara and her abilities it was going to BLOW MY MIND. It definitely didn’t. I thought the revelations were kind of blah and (and somewhat confusing)…. and mostly BLAH.

    Liked by 1 person

    • SAME. I only liked the ending after reading Michelle Hodkin’s explanation or something. The revelations weren’t really very shocking, and I wanted them to be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

