The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset


Title: The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2)
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Format: Paperback
Date Published: October 23, 2012 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐✰

Synopsis: The truth about Mara Dyer’s dangerous and mysterious abilities continues to unravel in the New York Times bestselling sequel to the thrilling The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Mara Dyer once believed she could run from her past.She can’t. She used to think her problems were all in her head. They aren’t. She couldn’t imagine that after everything she’s been through, the boy she loves would still be keeping secrets. She’s wrong. In this gripping sequel to The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, the truth evolves and choices prove deadly. What will become of Mara Dyer next?

(taken from goodreads)

review f

Prior to reading the book, I was so excited because it’s been like 5 months after I read the first book and I was expecting a lot with this one. Unknowingly, I expected a lot and my standard was too high which annoys me because I ended up not loving the book as much as I wanted to.

I think what disappointed me most in the book is that it was slow-paced. I mean, it is, right? We got a lot of scene of Mara trying to persuade her family to believe her, that she was telling the truth and her being sent to a mental institution and of course, moments with the love interest, Noah Shaw. I don’t know exactly what I was looking forward to but I am sure I wanted some action or some intense moments that would make my heart beat so fast. (I got what I wanted, anyway. But it didn’t satisfy me enough.)

However, there was still quite a lot of interesting stuff, like Jude haunting or scaring or stalking Mara. Got to admit, that was pretty cool my mind went wondering what was happening. DAMN. It was actually creepy but it got things sort of interesting! I like the way Jude played his part from being called dead to be so bloody alive. And, when Mara was at this Group something, there was this crazy girl who also scared the hell out of me although I’m not sure if it’s because of her creepiness or just her being crazy. And the last hundred or so freaking pages were so insanely awesome I almost went cray-cray! I nearly shouted WHY DID THIS JUST FREAKING HAPPENED WHAT WHAT WHAT!

I got so confused during the flashbacks, or memories, whatever they were. I had theories of my own about what has happening. Maybe she’s a reincarnation, or something? I DON’T KNOW. Those chapters were just few (but I liked those chapters even if they made me even more confused.) Though it got confusing there for me, I did my best to catch up because these chapters will surely help in solving mysteries. Maybe? I dearly hope so.

Overall, the book was an okay read. I know this would be a lot better if I hadn’t expected too much from it. AND I WAS SPOILED AS TO HOW THIS BOOK WOULD END WHICH IS SAD, ALTHOUGH I LAUGHED CREEPILY WHEN I FOUND OUT HOW IT WOULD END MONTHS AGO. The Evolution of Mara Dyer is an entertaining read – I enjoyed the last hundred or so pages, and of course JAMIE. Just make sure not to set up too high expectations.

signature

One thought on “The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Leave a Reply

