Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas


Title: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Format: eBook
Release Date: August 7, 2012 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s

Synopsis: After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

(taken from goodreads)

gg

I am Celaena Sardothien, Adarlan’s Assassin. If these men knew who I was, they’d stop laughing. I am Celaena Sardothien. I am going to win. I will not be afraid.

Wow. That was just… wow. Throne of Glass was an easy and enjoyable read. It was also fast-paced and really set my hype while reading. I enjoyed the book a lot, even though it set some disgusting images in my mind. Some parts of the book remind me of Game of Thrones, The Hunger Games and Divergent but it was appealing in its very own way.

Celaena Sardothien was a really likeable character. I was only a few chapters in the book but I already liked her. I love her character – strong, sassy, and fierce. Her career choice, being an assassin, was cool. Young as she may be but she had done things people thought she was older. I was sort of amazed when she survived a year of slavery and everyone just testified it was kind of a miracle. She knows what she wants: freedom. But when it came to guys, it was kind of hard to understand her. Dorian, the Crown Prince and Chaol, the Captain of the Guard showed interest to her. It actually annoyed me the way Dorian treats Celaena. WHY ARE PRINCES ALWAYS LIKE THAT TO THE FEMALE LEADS? WHY? Sometimes I wish they were kind of arrogant. Haha.

Throne of Glass, being the first book of the series, crafted a world for the reader’s imagination. Their world was kind of weird and at the same time, somewhere I would want to be. It has a hint of magic, although the King of Adarlan has forbidden it. I like the part where Celaena and I try to unravel the mystery: who murders the other champions? It was really interesting and from one chapter to another, there are so much to look forward to.

Overall, I liked the book so much and… what? It took a decade? Awesome.

4

bbb

3 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

