ARC REVIEW: Invisible for Young Women by Jennifer Rothschild


Title: Invisible for Young Women
Author: Jennifer Rothschild
Format: e-ARC via Netgalley
Expected Publication: February 1, 2016 by Harvest House Publishers

Synopsis: Author Jennifer Rothschild knows how easy it is for young women to feel overlooked and invisible. Through the Bible’s most unusual love story, found in the book of Hosea, Jennifer helps young women see that God loves and cares for them in whatever situation they find themselves in. They will discover thatIf you wander off, He will find you.If you are afraid, He will calm you.If you give up on Him, He will not give up on you.

No matter where you are, God sees who you are and loves you faithfully. Through the story of Hosea and Gomer, God reaches out to you and says, “You are mine, and that makes you lovely. You matter and are never invisible to me.”

(taken from goodreads)

review f

Envy isn’t really about her. It’s actually about me. It reveals that I don’t like myself very much.

Not really long ago, I was so bored I ended up making a video to entertain myself. In the video, I started with “Hello, I am Vanessa. Just so you know, I am a nobody.” Coincidentally, I read Invisible for Young Women because I needed to read a book before things start to get real serious (aka studying for finals). I chose the book because it was the shortest one on the list. 😂😂

Invisible for Young Women is a really inspiring book. Every chapter starts off with a short story for which I can relate, followed by explanations and stories by the author. To be honest, I am no religious girl. I don’t go to church on Sundays but I try my best to go the chapel at school for mass every Wednesday and/or Friday. The book is filled with bible verses, connected to the story introduced every chapter.

At first, I found reading the book weird, because I actually thought that it was just like the other books I read but I was wrong. I was shocked when the voice my mind used while reading changed. I was like, oh. The book talked about reality teenagers, specifically girls, face. It was easy to go on because the stories were relatable. However, it kind of bored me as the genre of the book isn’t really my forte.

The book changed my view about some stuff. It taught me some lessons and hopefully it turns into an act. I couldn’t move on to how inspiring the book is. It was like talking to a friend because it presented relatable stories and pieces of advice. Invisible for Young Women is a moving book that sets the reader into a different mood. It was like the book knew me on a personal note and helped me with the little things that troubled me. A must read for teens (especially girls) who has recently questioned themselves and lost self-esteem.

 I am somebody, not a nobody!

Note: A copy was received via Netgalley but this did not affect my view about the book. Thank you Harvest House Publishing!

4 starsss

signature

 

Leave a Reply

