Prodigy by Marie Lu


Title: Prodigy (Legend #2)
Author: Marie Lu
Format: Paperback
Release Date: June 29, 2013 by Putnam Juvenile

Synopsis: Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

(taken from goodreads)

gg

Oh. My. God.

I spent hours and hours of reading, I’ve lost count on how many times I had to roll my eyes, and I had to stop myself from screaming a lot of times for the book to end like that. Oh my gods.

It’s been 5 months, I guess, since I read the first book, Legend. I had a rough time starting Prodigy because my mind is quite confused, but once I was on track, it was an easy read. It was fast-paced. Everything happened so quickly, even Day falling in love with June happened real quickly.

Prodigy set me off in an adventure I may not experience. The book was still divided into 2 different point of views – June’s and Day’s. After quite few pages, I was almost convinced I disliked June. Almost. It was hard to pinpoint where her loyalty really lies. It annoyed me a lot. When she was arrested by the Republic and had talks with the Elector, I almost threw the book. She seriously annoyed me. Yeah, I get that she’s smart and all – she wouldn’t be the Republic’s treasured Prodigy for nothing. Day, on the other hand, made me like him even more in this book. He knew where he stands, and it was June’s fault why that happened, why it failed. However, after that little twist, I’m starting to understand June.

What I liked about the book was that they were able to describe stuff clearly, most especially June who was so specific in describing time, and even how the place where they were looked. I was also able to reflect on some injustice – when Day was arrested, he was tortured; when June was arrested, she was not treated like a prisoner. I know Day shrugged this thought because that’s June, but this seriously showed injustice not only in the book but as well as that in real life.

Overall, I liked Prodigy! I seriously think that this is better than the first book. However, the ending nearly broke my heart! I spent hours and hours reading a 371-pages book and get an ending like that? Thankfully, I got myself a copy of Champion already!

4

bbb

Leave a Reply

