The Improbable Theory of Zak and Ana by Brian Katcher


Title: The Improbable Theory of Zak and Ana
Author: Brian Katcher
Format: eBook
Release Date: May 19, 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books

Synopsis: The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Book Award-winning author Brian Katcher’s hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens recovering from heartbreak and discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date.

It all begins when Ana Watson’s little brother, Clayton, secretly ditches the quiz bowl semifinals to go to the Washingcon sci-fi convention on what should have been a normal, résumé-building school trip.

If slacker Zak Duquette hadn’t talked up the geek fan fest so much, maybe Clayton wouldn’t have broken nearly every school rule or jeopardized Ana’s last shot at freedom from her uptight parents.

Now, teaming up with Duquette is the only way for Ana to chase down Clayton in the sea of orcs, zombies, bikini-clad princesses, Trekkies, and Smurfs. After all, one does not simply walk into Washingcon.

But in spite of Zak’s devil-may-care attitude, he has his own reasons for being as lost as Ana-and Ana may have more in common with him than she thinks. Ana and Zak certainly don’t expect the long crazy night, which begins as a nerdfighter manhunt, to transform into so much more…

(taken from goodreads)

gg

So… The Improbable Theory of Zak and Ana is neither a bad book nor a good one. I was dreading for something unusual but… nah. I didn’t get what I wanted.

It’s a short book but took me about a day to read it. The instalove didn’t help. That quick? Hmm… I’m not quite convinced. Liking the person you’d least expect you would.

Ana is a typical smart teenager: good grades, strict parents, and the need for an almost perfect life. Zak, on the other hand, is the total opposite. He is the comic book geek whose idea of fun is going yearly to an event called Washingcon. Hmm. So, they begin series of misadventures. Huh, I think I’ve read or watched this somewhere.

When Zak and Ana were looking for Clayton, Ana’s brother, things didn’t go quite well. Everything goes down to Clayton. But why didn’t Ana stop him or at least tried screaming to him while he was getting on a cab. Nah. Gods, is it that hard? And the fact that Clayton’s just watching them? Oh gods. I was totally annoyed.

I didn’t get hooked up with the book, but I know I had to finish this. I was looking for something extraordinary but I didn’t see it! So… Clayton had to wander around the Washingcon so that Zak will like his stepfather and that Ana will learn to answer his mother and fight for herself? Huh. Gods.

Overall I did not like the book. But I think I liked the part about Ana’s life, although things seem to be exaggerated. Once again, this book isn’t for me.

2

bbb

Leave a Reply

