All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven


Title: All The Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Format: eBook
Release Date: January 6, 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Synopsis: The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Includes a PDF Help Line Resource Guide and a Note Read by the Author.

(taken from goodreads)

gg

What did I just read? A book that made me feel depressed because it reminded me of the life I had.

I did not like the book. I really did not like it. It was hard to go on reading, I put it down couple of times because it wasn’t what I thought it would be. The first parts of the book left me confused. I don’t understand what happened at the bell tower and why it was such a big deal. I almost decided not to finish this but then again, I must continue what I started.

All The Bright Places talks about death and ends with death. It tries to put the readers into a sad mood. When the part where it happened, I was just, Oh. So this is where I’m supposed to cry. The book is so easy to put down but is getting harder and harder to pick up and continue reading. It left me confused as hell, and I may or may not reread it. Maybe not. Definitely not.

The characters aren’t the type I fell for. Theodore Finch looked forward to the day of his death which isn’t exactly what I want as a book boyfriend. He also talked in a very confusing manner (or so I thought). It’s kind of hard to understand. Violet Markey is looking forward to the day of her graduation, freedom, or liberation but still lives in the past. She uses her sister’s death as an excuse to stay away from the world, but then again The Amazing Finch comes and she’s slowly going out of the shell she covered herself with. Hmm…

A few hours after reading the book, I felt so depressed, sad… not because of what happened in the book but because some of the lines reminded me what and how I was before. I shouldn’t have read the book. It put me into a situation I tried avoiding for awhile. I have no trouble about books about death and dead people but this just did not work for me. It isn’t for me.

1

bbb

 

4 thoughts on “All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. Hi Nessa

    I discovered through Booktips at Book Bloggers & Reviewers that you review books. I hope you don’t mind my writing to you. Good luck with your work. You might like to check out my books at http://www.amazon.com/James-Lawless/e/B001JOXD96
    If there is any book of mine you would like to review, please let me know and I can send it to you electronically or otherwise. At the moment I am trying to promote For Love of Anna which has been well received and translated into a few languages.
    Best wishes,
    James Lawless
    links: Website Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Amazon Goodreads

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

