The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

15753977
Title: The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2)
Author: James Dashner
Format: eBook
Release Date: October 12, 2010 by Delacorte Press

Synopsis: Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.

There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.

The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.

(taken from goodreads)

gg

Oh my gosh, you did not just leave me like that!
WICKED is good. How can they be seriously good after all the troubles they caused to these people? I have no idea. I am still shaking right now because of my overflowing emotions.
First of, I loved the first book (The Maze Runner) but The Scorch Trials just did not appeal to me as much as The Maze Runner did. I was a bit slow in reading, and I kept on imagining how awfully hot the place where everything happened is. Not to mention these Cranks who are way past gone, I’m sorry but I think they’re gross and all. Amazing what a disease could do to one person. I like how the story went, although I am confused as to some of the parts but it still worked out quite well.

WHAT I LIKED:

* Teresa and Thomas speaking through their minds.

Well, they did this in the first book already and this is definitely an essential part of the book, I guess. It played a great role between Thomas and Teresa’s relationship (and as well as Aris and Teresa’s).

* Thomas’s thinking skills.

I adored his brain a lot. He did have talks with some groups in order to convince them to spare his life as well as the Gladers’. He could think of things easily and it worked out just fine.

* Lesser “what” moments.

Unlike the first book, The Scorch Trials had lesser “what” moments because Thomas had flashbacks/dreams. As a result, he became lesser annoying to me.

WHAT I DID NOT LIKE:

* Thomas’ inconsistent feelings.

I really don’t get Thomas when it comes to Brenda and Teresa. When he’s with the other, he feels guilty because it’s like cheating the other. Seriously, dude, chill. None of them are your girlfriends (and that’s the least of your worries).

* Teresa and Aris.

Enough said, I did not like how things went when Teresa and Aris were together. Teresa was *this* close to being my favorite character but after what happened, I think I no longer like her that much.

* Cranks.

The Cranks who are past gone are gross. Forgive me, but, I really disliked these groups of people a lot. Although I still feel sorry for them because they had to experience such phase in their lives.

Overall, I like the book. It was an “oh” read, it did not bore me but at the same time, it did entertain me but not by that much. However, the last chapters were very breathtaking. I found myself gasping for air as they were reaching the safe haven. And, Teresa is probably thrown away as part of the list of my favorite characters.

3

bbb

 

2 thoughts on “The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

Leave a Reply

