Book Review || Fire With Fire

20759623Title: Fire with Fire
Author: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Format: Paperback, 544 pages
Release Date: August 13, 2013 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Source: Bought

Synopsis: Lillia, Kat, and Mary had the perfect plan. Work together in secret to take down the people who wronged them. But things didn’t exactly go the way they’d hoped at the Homecoming Dance.

Not even close.

For now, it looks like they got away with it. All they have to do is move on and pick up the pieces, forget there ever was a pact. But it’s not easy, not when Reeve is still a total jerk and Rennie’s meaner than she ever was before.

And then there’s sweet little Mary…she knows there’s something seriously wrong with her. If she can’t control her anger, she’s sure that someone will get hurt even worse than Reeve was. Mary understands now that it’s not just that Reeve bullied her—it’s that he made her love him.

Eye for an eye, tooth for a tooth, burn for a burn. A broken heart for a broken heart. The girls are up to the task. They’ll make Reeve fall in love with Lillia and then they will crush him. It’s the only way he’ll learn.

It seems once a fire is lit, the only thing you can do is let it burn…

(taken from goodreads)

my thoughts

Let me get this straight – the book got me “What the f—“. Some books got me like “What the hell?!” but this one’s different. Maybe because it’s the 2nd book of the trilogy but duh, I don’t see the point. But overall, I liked the book. Liked it. Liked it. Liked it. Why wouldn’t I?

The story started not long after the homecoming, where the first book left us. Lillia was so crazy and guilty with what happened. Of course, she would be guilty but I guess Reeve deserves what happened, after learning what he did to Mary. So anyway, the girls are done with their sweet revenges but Mary isn’t. As a result, they got another plan – the last one, by the way. And to be honest, it’s so cliché. Make someone fall for you and when he does, crush him. Cliché, right? But for the book, it worked well. Yes, they did it. Yep, Reeve’s heart got broken. Hurrah to Kat, Mary and Lillia because they did it… or not? All I could say is that the revenge plot did not work the way girls expected it to be.

Although I liked the book, I can’t keep it from you that some parts of the book are a bit boring so I took kind of a long time before being able to finish it. Not to mention, the book is also thick. It wasn’t the number of pages that made me a slow reader, really. Parts of it were very dull. And I kind of hate Lillia because her voice in my head doesn’t sound good to me. So is Mary because to me, she seemed childish. Really childish. BUT! I like Kat, although she is the cuss queen among the three. I liked Kat’s voice inside my head because it’s very strong and it makes me want to be her.

The book may seem boring and so cliché at times but damn, you would want to read the last book. I need to read the last book especially after Mary’s little revelation slash realization. It’s like compelling me – “Go ahead, buy the next book. Now.” I even read an excerpt of Ashes to Ashes which was on the last part of the book because I want to know already what is about to happen. And by the way, I don’t really read excerpts at the back. I wait to buy the whole book to keep myself delighted. I guess I must’ve loved the ending though it left me hanging. Damn, Cho.

3

Leave a Reply

