Book Review || Thirteen Reasons Why

1217100Title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Format: Paperback, 288 pages
Release Date: June 11, 2011 by Razorbill
Source: Bought

Synopsis: Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

(taken from goodreads)

my thoughts

This is the third time I re-read the book since I bought it over a year ago. It still is my favorite book, even if I say I like the book I just read. Whenever I think of Thirteen Reasons Why, it’s like the scenes from the book flashes back reminding me how much I love this book above the others I have read. Now, why do I love this book? Simply because I see myself in Hannah Baker. I have always thought about this ever since the very first time I finished reading the novel.

Thirteen Reasons Why is just one unique book. It’s got two narrators, two voices, two perspectives. Hannah Baker and Clay Jensen. But trust me; the dual-narration doesn’t confuse its reader to the story line. Hannah’s voice inside my head is very eerie. And I can feel her emotions very much – sadness, anger, regret… Hannah gets into your head in a very different way, like the character knows the way inside but can’t find the way out. Clay Jensen, on the other hand, is full of regret: “I should have…” “I could have…”

The novel is indeed unputdownable. You wouldn’t want to stop reading even just for a bit. You would want to know why he is on the list, why Hannah ended her life, and most of all, who is on the 13th tape. I really wanted to know who is on the last tape during the very first time I read it. I was under the impression that the last person did something worst than the first 11 people. Yes, 11. And well, it probably is true. I was just crying all throughout the last tape. He could have done something. He could have taken Hannah’s case more seriously than he already was doing. What made it worse is that their conversation wasn’t ripped from a memory; it was an actual record between the two. And that was the one last chance, like all or nothing.

I may not have gone through Hannah’s problem but I feel her pain. I can feel her pain within every pages of the book. I guess every reader does. Every reader who knows how to connect to the book he or she is reading. Thirteen Reasons Why is a book worth reading and re-reading. Worth for book recommendations and for sharing. It saves lives. It saved mine. And for that, I loved the book even more. Eerie, yes, but it was at the same time mind-blowing, mind-changing. It changed my perspective.

If you are reading this book review, which seemed more like storytelling or a thought sharing or something, then please read the book. If you have read it already, then re-read it. Share it. The more we read the book, the deeper we send Hannah’s life. The more we learn tO see things in a different perspective.

5

2 thoughts on “Book Review || Thirteen Reasons Why

  1. I really want to read this. I’m glad to hear that the two perspectives do not bring any confusion because I experience that once and it was horrible. But all I have been hearing about this book is great things. Thanks for the review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

