Book Review || We Were Liars

16143347Title: We Were Liars
Author: E-Lockhart
Format: PDF, 227 pages
Release Date: May 13, 2014 by Hot Key Books
Source: Downloaded

Synopsis: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

(taken from goodreads)

my thoughts

We Were Liars is an undeniably great novel. It talks about family, and love, and among others. It isn’t the usual YA book that I read; to me this is way deeper. The novel may be of fiction but parts of it happen in the real world. The part where the children are fighting over inheritance actually happens in reality, and I happen to be a witness of one. In the book, it’s a lot worse than the one I have witnessed

I’m really the type of person who has past tense issue, and with the title, I’m having second thoughts whether it will leave me smiling or crying. And trust me, it’s the latter. The last 7 or 8 chapters were just so… I just don’t really want to spoil but gosh it was very nerve racking. Sinclair Family, where everyone seems perfect; where everyone is perfect. Be normal. Because you are, because you can. That is what Penny, Cadence’s mum, always tells her. You know, the whole novel seemed to me like a competition between Bess, Carrie, and Penny over inheritance. They’re rich, yes, but they’re not the one who is actually rich. Their father, Harris, is. It’s a shame these 3 use their children to impress their father. Good thing is that their children deviates them at times, and that they’re still very close regardless of the situation.

The novel is truly beautifully-written. The reviews written on the book are just true. The book is a lot deeper than one would actually think the fact that it isn’t really long. The Liars’ – Cadence, Gat, Mirren, and Johnny – relationship seemed like a true friendship, although they see each other every summer and they don’t contact each other during the school year. However, their distance didn’t matter because when they are at the Beechwood, they have a world of their own.

I really love We Were Liars, I never thought I would. The ending may have hurt me but still, I love it. A perfect summer read; but prepare tissues when you’re on the 5th part. I was a mess because I didn’t see things coming.

4

One thought on “Book Review || We Were Liars

Leave a Reply

