Book Review || The Selection Series

The-Selection-collage

Fun fact: The Selection Series is the first series which I have a complete physical copies. I usually end up lacking one or two books in a series which is annoying because it leaves me hanging! 😀


The_Selection_CoverTitle: The Selection (The Selection #1)
Author: Kiera Cass
Format: Paperback, 327 pages
Release Date: March 6, 2013 by HarperTeen
Source: Bought

SynopsisFor thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks. Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

(taken from goodreads)

my thoughts

I love the book. So much! I’m having hangovers. The book is very sweet ants could carry it to wherever they want it to be. Aspen Leger, America Singer’s secret boyfriend was very dumb – for letting her go. They’ve been hiding their relationship for 2 years. I don’t really like Aspen. I don’t hate him because of his caste; I just simply don’t like him! America wasn’t going to sign up for the Selection. But, her mother bribed her and Aspen said she should at least try – there are thousands of girls and she has very little chance as others to be chosen. However, she was chosen and had to leave Carolina to go to the palace – where she will be staying along with the royal family and 34 other girls. America’s first meeting with Prince Maxon was very funny, I guess. America was on her way to the garden, she wanted to escape because she was missing her family. However, the guards didn’t allow her to stay outside, and that she needed to rest. That’s when Prince Maxon came to the scene. They had a conversation and America thought Maxon was going to do something to her so she kicked him. And she made quite an impression. On their next conversations, America confessed she had to stay because of the money being sent to her family and also for the food. Fun fact, America is Maxon’s first kiss. She wanted her to be. And I LOVED IT.  Even if Maxon has 34 other girls, I think being his first kiss, is privilege or something, like you’re on top of other girls. After reading the book, I’m having dreams about it. It’s like I am being haunted, but not in a scary way. The book ended with leaving only 6 of the Selected to become the Elite. These are dangerous times. And Maxon had to decide who to choose.


The_Elite_Cover

Title: The Elite (The Selection #2)
Author: Kiera Cass
Format: Paperback, 323 pages
Release Date: April 23, 2013 by HarperTeen
Source: Bought

Synopsis: The Selection began with thirty-five girls. Now, with the group narrowed down to the Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever–and America is still struggling to decide where her own heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen, who she always thought was the one? America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want–and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

my thoughts

 My love for The Elite isn’t as much as I have for the first book. Although it’s obvious much more action can be read in this book than the former. The Selected were cut to six because they had to end the Selection as soon as possible, it’s more and more dangerous because of the rebels that have been attacking the palace. After reading The Elite, my love for America Singer grew. Her character is very different from those of the other Elites. She’s very unique. From page to page, I like her more and more I finished the book loving her. There were 2 scened when I adored America so much:

  • Marlee, America’s closest friend and Carter, one of the palace guars – were caned. For treason. The penalty was supposed to be death, but Maxon lowered their charges. They will be caned and will become an Eight. Playing the best friend role, America wanted to stop what was happening. She freaked out and the King wasn’t happy about it. But who cares? If I were Marlee’s best friend, I would have done the same thing America did (if I was brave enough).
  • Another situation was for their Report Live. America was much occupied that she could not think of what to do with her presentation. With the help of Gregory Illea’s diary she got from Maxon, she came up with this: removing the caste system in their society. Even if you fair well, if you belong to the lower caste, people will still look down to you. America was very brave to point things out but she lost two things: Maxon’s trust and the chance to be his wife. The King sent her home, but Maxon said she won’t be going anywhere. She’s still an Elite.

The Elite, like most of the second books I have read, was hanging. It left my mouth open. I wasn’t contented – I need more! Now that she’s back to being an Elite, with her second chance, what will happen? Finishing The Elite made me want to finish reading the series as soon as I could. And it certainly would be appreciated if America and Maxon end up together!!


the-one-kiera-cass Title: The One (The Selection #3)
Author: Kiera Cass
Format: Paperback, 323 pages
Release Date: May 6, 2014 by HarperTeen
Source: Bought

Synopsis: America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown, or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stand to lose – and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

my thoughts

The whole book was totally fantastic! Really, although I did a lot of eye-rolling while reading the book. The first few chapters were very funny: America trying to seduce Maxon so she wore some sort of slutty gowns. She was trying to seduce him, but I think she already did it with just being the usual her. To be honest, I hated America’s conversation with Aspen. No matter how short it was. I just hate it. Why? That I do not know. King Clarkson was also very annoying. She doesn’t like America. Why? Because she is (or was) a Five? Because she deviates his rules? Ugh. It was in this book when I realized Celeste didn’t deserve my hatred. She only wanted attention. Fame. I can’t blame her for that because she was raised for that. I liked her character development. From the time she was crying in the library until the other Selected were in the palace – she has changed. She even asked sorry for the things she did! Who would’ve thought about her apologizing? To be honest, I didn’t. I also did a lot of silent shouting while reading. Who wouldn’t? Especially the parts when (spoiler!) they said “I love you”, when Maxon said they’re going to marry each other, and when Maxon learned about Aspen and America’s relationship is deeper than he thought. I had to bury my face with a pillow so I could create less noise when I can’t keep myself from shouting. Maxon’s letters to America when she wasn’t around the palace (because she had to go home for a while to attend her father’s funeral) were totally sweet, for someone who says he hasn’t written a love letter, the letters are pretty awesome. The last 50 pages of the book were filled with breathtaking moments. I couldn’t even put the book down because these moments were so intense – very much. I was just very sad as to the King and Queen’s death. No matter how much I hated King Clarkson for his treatment to America, his death along with the Queen’s made me feel sorry for Maxon. Losing one parent is hard, how much more if two? And knowing that they died together?

5
(overall rating)

I just love this series so much. It deserved my time. In fact, The One is the first book I have read for 6 hours straight. I only stop when I had to attend personal necessities. America may have said this isn’t a fairy tale. But, I believe these books are magical. I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE HEIR!!

Leave a Reply

