Saving Mr. Banks

Picture

Title: Saving Mr. Banks
Starring: Emma Thomson, Tom Hanks
Directed by: John Lee Hancock
Release Date: December 20, 2013 (USA)
Rating: PG-13

Synopsis: Author P.L. Travers reflects on her childhood after reluctantly meeting with Walt Disney, who seeks to adapt her Mary Poppins books for the big screen.

(taken from imdb)

review

I have no idea who or what Mary Poppins is. In fact, I don’t even know such name exists! But the movie totally changed my view about Mary Poppins.

Walt Disney has been sort of “courting” author P.L. Travers for her book Mary Poppins to be adapted in a movie as what he promised to her daughter. Pamela Lyndon Travers, who insists to be called as Mrs. Travers agreed but did not sign the contract yet. She wants to get what she wants about the film and Walt Disney had nothing to do but follow what she wants because if not, no adaptation would happen and therefore breaking his promise to his daughters.

I loved the movie so much. I was in fact teary-eyed at the end part of the movie, during the premiere of Mary Poppins in 1964. There were flashbacks throughout the movie, where Mrs. Travers was thinking about her childhood days, reminiscing her past. She had gone a lot of troubles as a child, her father became drunk, her mother committed suicide and eventually, her father died. It was filled with events you do not want to experience as a kid. No wonder, Mrs. Travers was so strict and seemed to have no happiness.

My favorite part of the movie was when Mrs. Travers was dancing, singing, smiling, and laughing. Although this part did not last really long because she got upset about the penguins which were to be animated, I still loved it. On the other hand, the part that totally teared me apart was when her father died. It was really unfortunate the fact that she’s so close to him and then he’s gone. I was teary-eyed (and I tried to hold it back because I was watching it with my parents).

I also loved the songs of the movie, it certainly suits the scenes where they are played. Maybe Mrs. Travers didn’t like it, I’m pretty sure I love it.

Overall, the movie is so near to perfection (for me, of course). It teaches life lessons and makes you love Disney even more! After watching the movie, I’m thinking about watching Mary Poppins as soon as possible!

5 stars

signature

Leave a Reply

