The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1

PictureTitle: The Hunger Game: Mockingjay – Part 1
Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth
Directed by: Francis Lawrence
Release Date: November 21, 2014 (USA)
Rating: PG-13

Synopsis: Katniss Everdeen is in District 13 after she shatters the games forever. Under the leadership of President Coin and the advice of her trusted friends, Katniss spreads her wings as she fights to save Peeta and a nation moved by her courage.

(taken from imdb)

review

Finally! The most anticipated movie of the year, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1, is now playing! The whole THG fandom nearly gone mad when Lionsgate released the first teaser just a few months before it premiered! So, as a Tribute, here’s my say about the movie.

The first scene was fantastic. Although it wasn’t really clear for me what Jeniffer Lawrence (Katniss Everdeen) said. But I’m betting what she said was “My name is Katniss Everdeen.  I am seventeen years old.  My home is District 12.  I was in the Hunger Games.  I escaped.  The Capitol hates me.  Peeta was taken prisoner.  He is thought to be dead.  Most likely he is dead.  It is probably best if he is dead..” (I’m sorry about this part because I was too busy controlling my feels at that moment.) Katniss doesn’t really want to save herself first. She wants to save Peeta, and the rest of the people she loves.

The whole movie was mostly about the rebellion and District 13’s life. They were living in secret, as what District 13 have done over the years. But, with Katniss on their side, they will be starting a rebellion, of course Katniss as the face: their symbol, the Mockingjay. However, with Peeta on the Capitol’s side, this might be a little harder.

The part that teared me was the bombing at District 8’s makeshift hospital. Many of them dies, unarmed men, women, and children. And Katniss’ message to President Snow – Fire is catching and if we burn, you burn with us. – totally tore me apart. Another part was when Katniss was looking for Prim at District 13. Prim went back for her cat, Buttercup. I just cried because I can see how much Katniss cared for Prim but it wasn’t enough to save her (spoiler!). Lastly, the part that broke my heart was the ending. The hijacked Peeta. I was totally crying! Why wouldn’t I? It’s a very different Peeta! Okay. Maybe I’ve read this in the book already bla, bla, bla, but seeing Josh Hutcherson (Peeta Mellark) with bruised face and all the crazy stuff, nearly killing Katniss, I almost died.

So much on the sad parts, my favorite part was The Hanging Tree. I know, the story of the song is so sad but Jeniffer Lawrence’s way of singing just makes me love it anyway. Another one is Gale (Liam Hemsworth) being on Katniss’ side because he loves him and although it’s pretty obvious that Katniss is inlove with Peeta. I just love how he still played his role as the bestfriend.

Overall, I loved the movie so much. Although there are many sad parts, I still love it because first of all, it followed the book! So, if you haven’t watched the movie yet, might as well grab your clothes, money and go to the cinema near you!

4 stars

signature

Leave a Reply

