The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Picture

Title: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Format: Paperback, 213 pages
Release Date: February 1999 by MTV Books and Pocket Books
Source: Borrowed

 Synopsis: Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.
The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.
(taken from goodreads)

review

Although finals is fast approaching, I had to read this book the fact that I had to return this to my cousin who will also return this to his classmate before the semester ends. So, I spent the whole day reading this 231-paged masterpiece by Stephen Chbosky. Truth be told, the time I spent reading the book wasn’t a time wasted but a time worth spending.

The book actually starts with Charlie, the protagonist of the story, writing letters to an unknown friend. It actually seemed to me that he was writing a diary but was just addressing to “this friend” so that he’ll feel he has someone to talk to. Anyways, he is a shy type of guy and is afraid of going to high school, which is why he’s writing to this friend. He doesn’t have any friends at school… well, he has but they’re seniors and a lot older than him. Charlie is a very emotional type of guy and cries a lot.

Throughout the book, I did love Charlie and the rest of the characters. But, it’s kind of disturbing that a 16-year-old high school freshman smokes pot and takes drugs. Not the good ones, but the bad ones. Apart from that, I guess have no more issues with the book. I’m guessing that’s kind of a normal thing in the US, right?

It was well-written (to think that this is Chbosky’s first novel). It wasn’t that hard to read because it feels like you are Charlie’s friend and he’s just talking to you. I so loved the part where Charlie beat Brad’s friends to save Patrick from being beaten. It all started with one word — FAGGOT, and that is a not really good word.

Charlie’s senior friends avoided him because of what happened when they were playing truth or dare (I’m not gonna tell what happened; it’s for you to read). So, while Charlie was alone at the cafeteria, eating (of course), he saw Patrick and Brad and then there, Brad said one big word I do not want to repeat again. Patrick punched Brad and then Brad’s friends beat Patrick so Charlie saved Patrick from Brad’s friends through beating them up too!

The epilogue sort of bothered me. I mean, Charlie loved her Aunt Helen so much to the point that she became his favorite person in the world. What his aunt did was kind of unforgiving especially that it affected Charlie, a lot. But at least, his friends and family showed their care for him which I bet helped him recover from his depression (I guess).

Overall, I loved the book. As Charlie says, “I think it’s my favorite book. But I always say that every time I finish reading a book.”. I just find it funny that I think the suits the title “The Perks of having Senior Friends”. (That was a joke, I’m sorry)

5 stars

signature

Leave a Reply

